Balasana (pose d'enfant)

Nom (s) anglais

Pose de l'enfant

Sanskrit

बालासन /Bālāsana

Prononciation

BAHL-ahs-ahna

Sens

bala: «enfant»
asana: «pose»

La pose d'enfant est une pose par excellence dans un cours de yoga et est principalement utilisée comme pose de repos. Il s'agit d'une pose en flexion avant qui peut en fait être pratiquée de manière active ou passive, apportant des avantages légèrement différents à la pose.

Les bienfaits physiques

Stretch les chevilles, les pieds, les quadriceps et les hanches, ainsi que l'ensemble du dos, des épaules et du cou. Parce que la tête repose sous le cœur dans la pose, plus de sang coule dans le cerveau, créant un effet calmant et apaisant sur l'esprit.

Lorsque vous utilisez Child's Pose de manière passive, il détend doucement les muscles du corps avant, y compris les abdominaux et la poitrine. Tout votre corps est soutenu, vos bras et vos épaules sont détendus et vos hanches se reposent.

Si vous utilisez Balasana en tant que pose active, vous pouvez appuyer vos mains sur le sol, en soulevant vos coudes pour dynamiser les bras et le dos. Vous pouvez augmenter l'étirement des hanches en atteignant vos hanches vers vos talons.

Avantages énergétiques

Balasana est excellent pour rajeunir le système nerveux central. La pose détend tous les muscles entourant les vertèbres de la colonne vertébrale, libérant ainsi les nerfs pour communiquer plus efficacement avec le cerveau.

Cette pose peut vous aider à respirer plus profondément ainsi, en créant un espace plus détendu dans le dos pour respirer. Sans parler du fait que vos yeux sont fermés, vous permettant de vraiment ressentir ce qui se passe dans votre corps. C'est une excellente pose pour remarquer à quel point votre respiration est stable, et aussi pour remarquer où la respiration va naturellement dans le corps. (Le ventre, les côtes, le dos ou la poitrine).

En plaçant la colonne vertébrale dans une forme arrondie et détendue, et avec le troisième œil enfoncé dans le tapis, le yogi peut ressentir un effet d'ancrage profond. Le troisième œil est le 6e chakra (ou centre d'énergie) dans le corps et régit votre intuition et votre connexion à votre moi supérieur.

Cette pose masse également les muscles abdominaux et les organes internes, en particulier le système digestif, et peut stimuler l'élimination.

Child's Pose peut vous aider à vous sentir protégé, nourri et en sécurité, créant ainsi un sanctuaire dans votre propre corps.

Contre-indications

Les personnes souffrant de blessures récentes ou récurrentes ou de problèmes aux genoux ou aux chevilles peuvent avoir des problèmes dans cette pose. Ceux qui ont une pression artérielle élevée ou basse doivent faire preuve de prudence lorsqu'ils pratiquent cette pose. Si possible, assurez-vous que l'estomac et les intestins sont vides pour cette pose, car vous pourriez ressentir une gêne.

Entrer dans la pose

2 Commentaires

    1. Meera Watts /Répondre

      Salut Tejeshwar,

      Oui… En fait, les talons viendront par le côté en gardant le gros orteil ensemble…
      Ainsi, la fesse reposera entre les talons de Balasana.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les spams. Découvrez comment vos données de commentaire sont traitées.

balasana child pose

Balasana (Child’s Pose)

English Name(s)

Child’s Pose

Sanskrit

बालासन/Bālāsana

Pronunciation

BAHL-ahs-ahna

Meaning

bala: “child”
asana: “pose”

Child’s Pose is a quintessential pose in a yoga class and is used mainly as a resting pose. This is a forward bending pose that can actually be practiced in an active way, or in a passive way, bringing slightly different benefits to the pose.

Physical Benefits

Stretches the ankles, feet, quads, and hips, as well as the entire back, shoulders, and neck. Because the head is resting below the heart in the pose, more blood flows into the brain, creating a calming and soothing effect on the mind.

When using Child’s Pose in a passive way, it gently relaxes the muscles of the front body, including the abdominals and chest. Your entire body is supported, your arms and shoulders are relaxed, and your hips are resting.

If using Balasana as an active pose, you can press your hands into the floor, lifting your elbows to energize the arms and back. You can increase the stretch in the hips by reaching your hips towards your heels.

Energetic Benefits

Balasana is excellent for rejuvenating the central nervous system. The pose relaxes all the muscles surrounding the vertebrae of the spine, freeing up the nerves to communicate with the brain more effectively.

This pose can help you to breathe more deeply as well, by creating more relaxed space in the back in which to breathe into. Not to mention the fact that your eyes are closed, allowing you to truly feel what is happening in your body. This is a great pose to notice how steady your breath is, and also to notice where the breath goes naturally in the body. (The belly, the ribs, the back or the chest).

By placing the spine in a rounded and relaxed shape, and with the third eye pressing into the mat, the yogi can experience a deep grounding effect. The Third Eye is the 6th chakra (or energy center) in the body and governs your intuition and connection to your higher self.

This pose also massages the abdominal muscles and internal organs, especially the digestive system, and can stimulate elimination.

Child’s Pose can help you to feel protected, nurtured and secure, effectively creating a sanctuary in your own body.

Contraindications

People with recent or recurring injuries or issues in the knees or ankles may have trouble in this pose. Those with high or low blood pressure should exercise caution when practicing this pose. If possible, ensure that the stomach and bowels are empty for this pose, as you may experience discomfort.

Going into the Pose

 

Categories:

Meera Watts is a yoga teacher, entrepreneur and mom. Her writing on yoga and holistic health has appeared in Elephant Journal, Yoganonymous, OMtimes and others. She’s also the founder and owner of Siddhi Yoga International, a yoga teacher training school based in Singapore. Siddhi Yoga runs intensive, residential trainings in India (Rishikesh, Goa and Dharamshala), Indonesia (Bali) and Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur).

Recommended for you

yoga stretches for beginners

Yoga Stretches for Beginners to Yogis of All Levels

Child’s Pose is a quintessential pose in a yoga class and is used mainly as a resting pose. This is a forward bending pose that can actually be practiced...

yogic breathing techniques

Yoga Breathing Techniques for Beginners

Child’s Pose is a quintessential pose in a yoga class and is used mainly as a resting pose. This is a forward bending pose that can actually be practiced...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Learn More About Our Programs

Click on the locations below to learn about our other teacher training programs