理想阿育吠陀膳食的八个因素(Ahaar Vidhi Visheshayatana)

理想的阿育吠陀膳食因素

介绍

根据吠陀经,食物是生命的源泉 普拉纳 为小众生。 神灵从火祭或火祭中获得营养。 吠陀智慧说“mtriyorma amrutam gamaya” (愿我远离死亡走向永生)。 所以,直到我们太极拳前夕更高的存在,食物是我们的救星。 它是 annamaya kosha,物质存在的基础。

但并非所有食物都含有相同数量的 普拉纳。 质量 普拉纳, 太极拳 或者食物中存在的生命能量因许多因素而异。 有身体的、心理的和精神的因素可以赋予 普拉纳 到食物。 厨师的心态和意识水平会影响食物的能量。 此外,当你通过正义的方式获得食物时, 普拉纳 的食物是令人难以置信的积极。 这些是食物的精神和精神方面。 让我们看看古代文本中的其他一些因素。

总结

食物是食物的来源 普拉纳 or 太极拳. 阿育吠陀列出了八个重要因素,可确保您毫不费力地从食物中吸收生命力。

八个膳食因素

查拉克 三喜多 列出了八个令人着迷的因素 理想的一餐. 这八个因素的组称为 阿哈尔·维迪·维谢沙亚塔 (哈哈 - 食物, 维迪 - 方法, 维舍沙亚塔那 – 特殊方面/维度)。

तत्रखल्विमान्यष्टावाहारविधिविााििाििा तद्यथा-प्रकृतिकरणसंयोगराशिदेशकालोपयोगसंस्थोपयोक्त्रष्टमानि(भवन्ति)|| XNUMX ||

八种特殊因素构成了理想的食品消费方式。

他们是 -

  1. 普拉克拉蒂 (天然营养品质)
  2. 卡兰 (准备)
  3. 三阳 (组合)
  4. 拉什 (数量)
  5. 德什 (栖息地)
  6. Kaal (时间)
  7. 优胜师 (使用说明)
  8. 乌皮克塔 (消费者)

普拉克拉蒂 (天然营养品质)

तत्रतत्रप्रकृतिरुच्यतेस्वभावो,सपुनराहारौषधद्रव्याणांस्वाभाविकोस्वाभाविको; तद्यथा माषमुद्गयोः, शूकरैणयोश्च (१) |२२|

普拉克拉蒂 是物质的自然特性; 重量等自然品质定义了 普拉克拉蒂 作为食品和药用物质; 例如 - 捣碎 (urad dal/black gram) 难以消化,而 绿豆 (绿克)是轻的; 猪肉很重,但鹿肉很轻。

普拉克拉蒂 是自然状态。 这个单词 普拉克拉蒂 在阿育吠陀中无处不在。 我们有体型(sharir 普拉克拉蒂), 心智类型 (manas 普拉克拉蒂), 食物类型 (哈哈 普拉克拉蒂) 等 这个 普拉克拉蒂 是兼容性的基础。 理想情况下,您应该吃适合您的身心的食物。 然而,这个 shloka 侧重于食物的物理特性。

查拉克 三喜多 定义了一些对每个人都有益的食物,例如大麦、牛奶、蜂蜜、大米等,因为这些食物天然适合所有人。

普拉克拉蒂 是物质的自然状态。 生水果中的天然营养是由于其 普拉克拉蒂.

不同的食物具有独特的特性组合。 例如——西瓜凉、重,有助于消除 皮塔 多沙; 而黄瓜是温暖的并且会增加 皮塔.

阿育吠陀理想膳食的 8 个因素

总结

普拉克拉蒂 是物质的自然属性。 这些特性决定了它对身体新陈代谢的影响。 例如——蜂蜜清淡而温暖。 因此,它有助于平衡 卡法 多沙。

卡兰 (准备/食品加工)

| संस्कारोहिगुणान्तराधानमुच्यते| तेगुणास्तोयाग्निसन्निकर्षशौचमन्थनदेशकालवासनभावनादिभिःकालप्रकर्षभाजनादिभिश्चाधीयन्ते(XNUMX)| XNUMX |

卡兰 指食物的准备。 它是烹饪科学的开端,我们加工食物以满足我们的营养需求。 通过食品加工,我们可以改变自然属性(普拉克拉蒂) 的食品,并在其中诱发理想的品质。

一些重要的食品加工方法是——

  1. 水(浸泡、发酵等)
  2. 火(烤、炸、煮、烟等)
  3. 净化(洗涤、沉淀、筛分等)
  4. 搅拌/混合/研磨
  5. 地方(冷/暖气候、湿度、风等)
  6. 时间(烹饪/加工时间等)
  7. 瓦桑 – 保存/储存(酸洗、发酵、风干、晒干等)
  8. 输液(混合草药汁以升级营养/药用特性)

例如,阿育吠陀说菠菜等绿叶蔬菜又重又干, 瓦塔 身体虚弱。 然而,用小茴香和细辛等温暖的草药调和可以使它们清淡,易于消化。 这些草药调和的蔬菜不会引起任何 瓦塔 无效。

总结

烹饪过程或 卡兰 改进食品的自然特性以满足个人的营养需求。

三阳 (组合)

संयोगःपुनर्द्वयोर्बहूनांवाद्रव्याणांसंहतीभावः,सविशेषमारभते,यंपुनर्नैकैकशोद्रव्याण्यारभन्ते; |

两种具有不同品质的物质结合在一起会产生特殊的效果。 例如——酥油可以冷却身体并提高免疫力。 它有助于平衡所有三个 dosha。 蜂蜜是温暖的,具有很好的抗菌特性。 这是最好的补救措施 卡法 障碍。 酥油和蜂蜜的组合应该对健康有益。 然而,阿育吠陀说,同等比例的酥油和蜂蜜会对身体产生毒性作用!

另一方面,酥油和蜂蜜的不等比例具有极好的保健作用。

的概念 三阳 在阿育吠陀饮食中至关重要。 它是不相容组合科学的基础或 维鲁达哈尔 (维鲁达 – 对立/冲突, 哈哈 - 食物)。 我们将进行详细的探索 维鲁达哈尔 在以后的博客中。

总结

组合或 三约 两种食物物质的组合可能会产生独特的代谢作用,不同于它们各自的作用。 因此,了解食物组合对健康的影响非常重要。

拉什 (数量)

राशिस्तुसर्वग्रहपरिग्रहौमात्रामात्रफलविनिश्चयार्थः| तत्रतत्रसर्वस्याहारस्यप्रमाणग्रहणमेकपिण्डेन,परिग्रहःपुनःप्रमाणग्रहणमेकैकश्येनाहारद्रव्याणाम्| सर्वस्यसर्वस्यहिग्रहः,सर्वतश्चसर्वतश्चग्रहःपरिग्रह(XNUMX)| XNUMX |

拉什 或数量是阿育吠陀膳食的关键因素。 阿育吠陀说,即使是长生不老药也会在过度消费时变成毒药。 所以,一定要根据自己的年龄、健康状况、饥饿感、消化能力等来吃。

拉什 有两个方面—— 萨瓦格拉哈帕里格拉哈

萨瓦格拉哈 (萨尔瓦 - 全部; 格拉哈 - 录取):

这是总 食物量 你消费。 它包括所有类型的食物——固体、流质或水果、谷物、肉类等。这个总量有助于决定吃得过多、吃得过少、卡路里的总量、食物的整体影响、消化能力等。

为了便于理解,我们假设两个人吃掉1公斤的食物; 一个人吃1公斤芒果,另一个人吃1公斤西瓜。 与另一个人相比,第一个人将获得更多的卡路里。 此外,第一人可能会体验芒果的通便作用。 泻药有助于缓解过量 皮塔 多沙。 而第二人称可能会感觉整体 皮塔 西瓜的影响越来越大。 (参考 - 巴夫 普拉卡什; 法拉迪·瓦尔加,)

帕里格拉哈 (等于 - 个人; 格拉哈 - 录取)

帕里格拉哈 指您食用的食物的个别成分。 例如 – 1 杯木豆、1 杯米饭、1 个苹果等。

帕里格拉哈 可能不同 萨瓦格拉哈. 例如,如果两个人总共吃掉 1 公斤的食物,

  • 帕里格拉哈 一个人可以是——3 杯木豆、1 份烤肉、1 杯米饭等。
  • 对于另一个人,它可以是——1 杯木豆、2 份烤肉、3 杯米饭等。

帕里格拉哈 帮助我们评估个人营养素的摄入量。 比如上面例子中第一个人的蛋白质摄入量就比另一个人多。 还有很多其他方面 拉什 以及它影响你身体的方式。

总结

拉什 是食物摄入量。 这个因素有两个方面——食物摄入总量和单个成分(如米饭、面包、汤等)的数量。 信息 拉什 帮助您确定消化能力、适量食用、食物对身体的影响等。

德什 (栖息地)

देशः पुनः स्थानं; ससद्रव्याणामुत्पत्तिप्रचारौदेशसात्म्यं(XNUMX)| XNUMX |

查拉·萨姆希塔 说一个人的原生或自然栖息地对他来说是最健康的。 在家乡自然生长的食物、水果、蔬菜等,比其他地方的食物更适合一个人。

德什 或者当地人是世界各地美食彩虹的基础。 每道菜都采用最好的天然当地食材。 这些当地美食对当地人来说是最健康的。 例如——南印度人更喜欢 idli、dosa 等发酵食品。南印度温暖的气候支持发酵。 此外,这些食物在炎热的气候下更容易消化。

Kaal (时间)

कालोहिनित्यगश्चावस्थिकश्च; तत्रावस्थिकोविकारमपेक्षते,नित्यगस्तुऋतुसात्म्यापेक्षः(XNUMX)| XNUMX |

Kaal 或者时间对于大消化至关重要。 及时进餐是理想的阿育吠陀生活方式的基础。 Kaal 主要有两个方面—— 尼亚格无精打采

尼蒂亚格 Kaal (时间的一般影响)

尼蒂亚格 Kaal 定义了时间的一般影响,这对所有个人都是一样的。 例如,昼夜和季节性影响对每个人都是一样的。

在一天中,一天中的不同部分具有不同的 dosha 优势。 例如, 卡法 dosha 在一天的第一部分占主导地位。 同样,dosha 也表现出季节性衰减。 例如,雨季是 瓦塔 无效。

相关信息 尼蒂亚格 卡尔 帮助我们确定最佳的食物选择、准备、组合、数量等。例如,

  • 阿育吠陀说午餐应该是一天中最重的一餐,因为我们的新陈代谢和消化能力在中午达到顶峰。
  • 此外,你不应该在晚上喝酸奶,因为它可能会增加易感性 卡法 障碍。
  • 摄入量 萨图 在寒冷的气候下禁止用水稀释,因为这种制剂会对身体产生冷却作用。

从上面的例子中可以明显看出,阿育吠陀饮食建议充满了关于消费时间的使用方向。

阿瓦斯提克 Kaal (时间的条件影响)

阿瓦斯提克 卡尔 指时间的情境或条件影响。 这个因素特别适用于疾病。 例如 -

阿育吠陀建议在发烧的第一天不进行治疗。

同样,在发烧的第一阶段,牛奶也不是健康的选择。 但对于发烧的人来说,它是一种很好的食物。

最重要的是,每件事都有最好的时机。

总结

德什 (地点)和 Kaal (时间)是定义食物相容性、自然生物节律、理想进餐时间等的关键因素。

优胜师 (使用说明)

उपयोगसंस्थातूपयोगनियमः; सजीर्णलक्षणापेक्षः (७) |२२|

Upyogsantha 是一种食用食物的方法。 假设你有最有营养的食物,烹饪得当,搭配得很好。 时间和地点也是有利的。 但是,如果您没有正确使用这种食物,那么您可能无法从所有有利因素中受益。

例如, 阿查里亚 查拉克 说你不应该在消化前一餐之前吃掉这些食物。

即使你吃生的水果,使用说明也适用! 如何? 阿育吠陀说,无论是舔、吸还是吃芒果,其营养价值都会有所不同!

阿育吠陀建议舔 查万普拉什 慢慢地,而不是立即吞下它。 逐渐舔有助于更好地消化和吸收 查万普拉什. 此外,它还通过喂养过程激活味蕾并提高满意度。

酸奶的使用是另一个例子。 根据所有古代文献,您不得在夜间食用酸奶。 为什么? 日落后整体新陈代谢率下降。 除了, 卡法 dosha 主宰了夜晚的第一阶段。 根据阿育吠陀的说法,酸奶很容易消化,可能会让你容易受到 卡法 相关疾病。

然而, 巴夫·普拉卡什·尼甘图 建议晚上喝酸奶的一些特殊方向。 这些说明可以帮助您防止夜间食用酸奶的负面影响。

阿育吠陀建议与蜂蜜一起食用, 酥油,和糖、moong dal 或awla。 这些组合有助于减少 卡法 酸奶的影响越来越大。

此外,阿育吠陀建议在寒冷气候下食用酸奶,因为它可以自然地温暖身体。 另一方面,在温暖的气候下,您应该避免摄入过多的酸奶或酪乳。

总结

优胜师 或使用说明有助于充分利用食品物质。 它们有助于确保食物的最佳生物利用度和完美消化。

乌皮克塔 (消费者)

उपयोक्तापुनर्यस्तमाहारमुपयुङ्क्ते,यदायत्तमोकसात्म्यम्| इत्यष्टावाहारविधिविशेषायतनानिव्याख्यातानिभवन्ति|| || XNUMX

消费者为王,这一点毋庸置疑。 食物的最终效果取决于消费者的身体类型、当前健康状况、年龄、消化和整体新陈代谢。

例如,不同体型的人有不同的健康要求。 酪乳非常适合 瓦塔卡法 因为它可以温暖身体,而甜牛奶更适合 皮塔 优势体型。

八色鸫 占主导地位的人需要重的和凉的食物,而 卡法 占主导地位的人吃干燥、清淡和温暖的食物会更好。

水果和清淡的食物是病人、康复者和老年人的最佳饮食选择。 但是一个年轻的摔跤手 皮塔 优势体质需要重食来熄灭他旺盛的消化之火。

总结

乌皮克塔 指消费者。 该因素根据个体因素,如体型、健康状况、年龄、消化能力等来定义食物的使用。

芒果示例

让我们尝试以芒果为例来了解所有八个因素

  1. 普拉克拉蒂 (天然营养品质)

成熟的芒果自然甜、润、重、凉。

  1. 卡兰 (准备)

阿马瓦特 是传统的 芒果 准备。 它是一种天然甜味芒果棒,由晒干的芒果汁制成。 由于晒干过程, 阿马瓦特 与芒果果实相比变得更轻。 它是一种天然的开胃菜。 以其天然的甜味, 阿马瓦特 有助于平衡 瓦塔 多沙。 对口渴、恶心等也有好处。 阿马瓦特 也是一种天然的泻药。 因此,它有助于平衡 皮塔.

  1. 三阳 (组合)

根据 巴夫·普拉卡什·尼甘图,芒果和牛奶的组合,甜、重、凉。 它是一种滋补品、开胃菜、活力剂,还有助于改善肤色!

  1. 拉什 (数量)

过量摄入甜成熟的芒果通常是无害的。 它可能会导致轻微的松动。 然而,过量摄入生芒果会导致严重的问题。 它会导致消化不良、间歇性发烧、血液疾病、便秘和眼部疾病。 因此,数量对食物的代谢影响有很大的不同。

  1. 德什 (栖息地)

印度有超过 1000 种芒果。 然而,阿育吠陀说当地的品种对当地人来说是最好的。 因此,如果你留在印度南部, 巴甘帕利 对您来说是一个更健康的选择 达沙哈里 来自北方的芒果。

  1. Kaal (时间)

天然芒果是夏季的时令水果。 但转基因芒果品种全年供应。 这些不自然的水果给身体带来的危害可能比营养还大.

  1. 优胜师 (使用说明)

巴夫·普拉卡什·尼甘图 谈论吸吮芒果的特殊好处。 如果你吮吸多汁的芒果而不是咀嚼它,那么吮吸过程会增强芒果的有益影响。 与咀嚼的芒果相比,它是一种更好的开胃菜,更容易消化。

  1. 乌皮克塔 (消费者)

成熟的芒果尤其适合食用。 为了 瓦塔 prakrati 人,因为它有助于平衡 瓦塔 多沙。 它非常适合患有虚弱、营养不良、低体重、血液疾病等的人。

带走

阿育吠陀描述了控制食物对我们身体影响的八个重要因素。 这些因素统称为 阿哈尔 维迪 毗舍刹那 (食物消费的特殊方面)。 他们是 普拉克拉蒂 (天然营养品质), 卡兰 (准备), 三阳 (组合), 拉什 (数量), 德什 (栖息地), Kaal (时间), 优胜师 (使用说明),和 乌皮克塔 (消费者)。

有关这些因素的信息可以帮助您根据自己的体型和健康状况选择理想的食物。 此外,这些因素还可以帮助您以正确的方式食用优质食物。 底线是——在这八个因素的帮助下,你可以得到最好的食物,避免与食物相关的负面后果。

无论何时何地,大自然母亲总能达到所需营养的完美平衡。 因此,自然生长的离你最近的食物是最好的。 无需追逐异国情调的进口食品。 此外,每个季节都有其天然的食物生产。 这种季节性食物有助于当地人适应季节变化。 此外,阿育吠陀规定了使用指南和根据体型选择理想食物的方法。

底线是——选择时令的、有机的和当地的食物。 根据您的体型以阿育吠陀方式使用它。

我希望这些信息能给你带来最好的健康和繁荣。

Kanika Verma 博士
Kanika Verma 博士是印度的阿育吠陀医生。 她在贾巴尔普尔的政府阿育吠陀学院学习阿育吠陀医学和外科学,并于 2009 年毕业。她获得了额外的管理学位,并于 2011 年至 2014 年在雅培医疗保健公司工作。 在此期间,Verma 博士利用她的阿育吠陀知识作为医疗保健志愿者为慈善组织服务。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

出于安全考虑,需要使用谷歌的 reCAPTCHA 服务,该服务受谷歌 隐私政策使用条款.

我同意这些条款.

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

注册 查阅 免费 当然要 享受一生的健康

吠陀生命科学

  • 30天的瑜伽
  • 30天的冥想
  • 适合初学者的阿育吠陀
立即注册

Eight Factors of an Ideal Ayurvedic Meal (Ahaar Vidhi Visheshayatana)

ideal ayurvedic meal factors

Introduction

According to Vedas, food is the source of prana for lesser beings. The divine beings derive their nourishment from the fire sacrifice or homa. Vedic wisdom says “mtriyorma amrutam gamaya” (may I move away from death towards immortality). So, till the time we achieve a higher existence, food is our savior. It is the base of annamaya kosha, the physical existence.

But all food does not contain the same amount of prana. The quality of prana, chi or the vital energy present in the food differs according to many factors. There are physical, mental, and spiritual factors that bestow prana to food. The cook’s mindset and level of awareness affect the energy of the food. Also, when you earn your meal through righteous means, the prana of the food is incredibly positive. These are the mental and spiritual aspects of the food. Let us look at some other factors from the ancient text.

Summary

Food is the source of prana or chi. Ayurveda lists eight important factors to ensure that you effortlessly absorb the life force from the food.

The Eight Meal Factors

Charak Samhita lists eight fascinating factors for an ideal meal. The group of these eight factors is called Ahaar Vidhi Visheshayata (ahaar – food, vidhi – method, visheshayatana – special aspects/dimensions).

तत्र खल्विमान्यष्टावाहारविधिविशेषायतनानि भवन्ति; तद्यथा- प्रकृतिकरणसंयोगराशिदेशकालोपयोगसंस्थोपयोक्त्रष्टमानि (भवन्ति)||२१||

Eight special factors constitute the ideal method for food consumption.

They are –

  1. Prakrati (Natural Nutritious Qualities)
  2. Karan (Preparation)
  3. Sanyog (Combination)
  4. Rashi (Quantity)
  5. Desh (Habitat)
  6. Kaal (Time)
  7. Upyogsanstha (Usage Directions)
  8. Upyokta (Consumer)

Prakrati (Natural Nutritious Qualities)

तत्र प्रकृतिरुच्यते स्वभावो यः, स पुनराहारौषधद्रव्याणां स्वाभाविको गुर्वादिगुणयोगः; तद्यथा माषमुद्गयोः, शूकरैणयोश्च (१) |२२|

Prakrati is the natural character of a substance; the natural qualities like heaviness etc. define the Prakrati as food and medicinal substances; for example – mash (urad dal/black gram) is heavy to digest whereas moong dal (green gram) is light; pork is heavy but deer meat is light.

Prakrati is the natural state. The word Prakrati is omnipresent in Ayurveda. We have body type (sharir Prakrati), mind type (manas Prakrati), food type (ahaar Prakrati) etc. This Prakrati is the foundation for compatibility. Ideally, you should eat food compatible with both your mind and body. However, this shloka focuses on the physical properties of the food.

Charak Samhita defines some foods that are good for everyone, for example – barley, milk, honey, rice, etc. because these foods are naturally compatible with all.

Prakrati is the natural state of the substance. The natural nutrition available in a raw fruit is due to its Prakrati.

Different foods have unique combinations of properties. For example – watermelon is cool, heavy, and helps to eliminate pitta dosha; whereas cucumber is warm and increases pitta.

8 factors of ideal meal in Ayurvedic

Summary

Prakrati is the natural properties of a substance. These properties decide its effect on the body’s metabolism. For example – Honey is light and warm. Therefore, it helps to balance the kapha dosha.

Karan (Preparation/Food Processing)

करणं पुनः स्वाभाविकानां द्रव्याणामभिसंस्कारः| संस्कारो हि गुणान्तराधानमुच्यते| ते गुणास्तोयाग्निसन्निकर्षशौचमन्थनदेशकालवासनभावनादिभिः कालप्रकर्षभाजनादिभिश्चाधीयन्ते (२) |२२|

Karan refers to the food preparations. It is the start of culinary science, where we process the food to suit our nutritional needs. Through food processing, we can change the natural properties (Prakrati) of a food item, and induce desirable qualities in it.

Some of the important food processing methods are –

  1. Water (Soaking, Fermentation Etc.)
  2. Fire (Roasting, Frying, Boiling, Smoking Etc.)
  3. Purification (Washing, Sedimentation, Sieving, Etc.)
  4. Churning/Mixing/Grinding
  5. Place (Cold/Warm Climate, Humidity, Wind Etc.)
  6. Time (Cooking/Processing Time Etc.)
  7. Vasan – To Keep/Store (Pickling, Fermentation, Air Drying, Sun Drying Etc.)
  8. Infusion (Mixing Herbal Juices to Upgrade Nutritious /Medicinal Properties)

For example, Ayurveda says that green leafy vegetables like spinach are heavy, dry, and create vata vitiation in the body. However, a tempering with warm herbs like cumin and asafoetida can make them light, easy to digest. These herb-tempered vegetables do not cause any vata vitiation.

Summary

The cooking process or karan refines the natural properties of a food item to suit the nutritional needs of an individual.

Sanyog (Combination)

संयोगः पुनर्द्वयोर्बहूनां वा द्रव्याणां संहतीभावः, स विशेषमारभते, यं पुनर्नैकैकशो द्रव्याण्यारभन्ते; तद्यथा- मधुसर्पिषोः, मधुमत्स्यपयसां च संयोगः (३) |२२|

Two substances with distinct qualities come together to create a special effect. For example – ghee cools the body and boosts immunity. It helps to balance all three doshas. Honey is warm, with great antimicrobial properties. It is the best remedy for kapha disorders. A combination of ghee and honey should be great for health. However, Ayurveda says that ghee and honey in equal proportion produce a toxic effect on the body!

On the other hand, an unequal proportion of ghee and honey has excellent health effects.

The concept of Sanyog is vital in the ayurvedic diet. It is the foundation for the science of incompatible combinations or viruddhahaar (viruddha – opposite/conflicting, ahaar – food). We will make a detailed exploration of viruddhahaar in future blogs.

Summary

A combination or sanyog of two food substances may produce a unique metabolic effect, distinct from their individual effects. Therefore, it is important to understand the health consequences of your food combinations.

Rashi (Quantity)

राशिस्तु सर्वग्रहपरिग्रहौ मात्रामात्रफलविनिश्चयार्थः| तत्र सर्वस्याहारस्य प्रमाणग्रहणमेकपिण्डेन सर्वग्रहः, परिग्रहः पुनः प्रमाणग्रहणमेकैकश्येनाहारद्रव्याणाम्| सर्वस्य हि ग्रहः सर्वग्रहः, सर्वतश्च ग्रहः परिग्रह उच्यते (४) |२२|

Rashi or quantity is a crucial factor in Ayurvedic meals. Ayurveda says that even elixir turns to poison on excess consumption. Therefore, you must eat according to your age, health, hunger, digestive capacity, etc.

Rashi has two aspects – sarvagraha and parigraha

Sarvagraha (sarva – all; graha – intake):

This is the total amount of food you consume. It includes all types of foods – solids, fluids or fruits, grains, meat, etc. This total amount helps to decide on over-eating, under-eating, the total amount of calories, overall impact of food, digestive capacity, etc.

For ease of understanding, let us imagine that two people consume 1 kg of food; where one person eats 1 kg of mango and the other person consumes 1 kg of watermelon. The first person will get a greater number of calories compared to the other. Besides, the first person may experience the laxative impact of mango. Laxative action helps to relieve excess pitta dosha. Whereas the second person may feel an overall pitta increasing impact of watermelon. (reference – Bhav Prakash; Fhaladi Varga, )

Parigraha (pari – individual; graha – intake)

Parigraha refers to the individual ingredients of food that you consume. For example – 1 cup of dal, 1 cup rice, 1 apple, etc.

Parigraha may differ for same sarvagraha. For example, if two people consume a total of 1 kg of food,

  • parigraha for one person can be – 3 cup dal, 1 roti, 1 cup rice, etc.
  • for another person, it can be – 1 cup dal, 2 roti, 3 cup rice, etc.

Parigraha helps us to assess the intake of individual nutrients. For example, the protein intake of the first person in the above example is greater than the other. There are multiple other aspects of Rashi and the way it affects your body.

Summary

Rashi is the amount of food intake. This factor has two aspects – total amount of food intake and amount of individual ingredients (e.g rice, bread, soup, etc.). Information on Rashi helps you to ascertain the digestive capacity, appropriate quantity, the effect of food on the body, etc.

Desh (Habitat)

देशः पुनः स्थानं; स द्रव्याणामुत्पत्तिप्रचारौ देशसात्म्यं चाचष्टे (५) |२२|

CharakSamhita says that the native or natural habitat of a person is healthiest for him. The food, fruits, vegetables, etc. that naturally grows in the native place are more compatible with an individual than food from other places.

Desh or the native is the foundation for a rainbow of cuisines across the world. And each cuisine brings out the best of naturally available local ingredients. These local cuisines are the healthiest for the native population. For example – South Indian people are more comfortable with fermented food like idli, dosa, etc. The warm South Indian climate supports fermentation. Besides, such food items are easier to digest in a hot climate.

Kaal (Time)

कालो हि नित्यगश्चावस्थिकश्च; तत्रावस्थिको विकारमपेक्षते, नित्यगस्तु ऋतुसात्म्यापेक्षः (६) |२२|

Kaal or time is crucial for great digestion. Timely meals are the basis for an ideal Ayurvedic lifestyle. Kaal has two major aspects – nityag and awasthik

Nityag Kaal (General Impact of Time)

Nityag Kaal defines the general impact of time, which is the same for all individuals. For example, the diurnal and seasonal impact is the same for everyone.

In a day, different parts of the day have different dosha dominance. For example, the kapha dosha is dominant during the first part of the day. Similarly, dosha also exhibits seasonal vitiation. For example, the rainy season is the time for vata vitiation.

Information about Nityag kaal helps us to frame the best food choices, preparation, combinations, quantities, etc. For example,

  • Ayurveda says that lunch should be the heaviest meal of the day, as our metabolism and digestive capacity reach their zenith at noontime.
  • Also, you should not consume yogurt at night as it may increase susceptibility to kapha disorders.
  • Intake of Sattu diluted with water is prohibited during the cold climate, as this preparation produces a cooling effect on the body.

As obvious from the above examples, Ayurvedic dietary recommendations are replete with usage direction with regards to the time of consumption.

Avasthik Kaal (Conditional Impact of Time)

Avasthik kaal refers to the situational or conditional impact of time. This factor is especially applicable to disorders. For example –

Ayurveda recommends no treatment on the first day of fever.

Similarly, milk is not a healthy option during the first phase of fever. But it is a great food for people recuperating from fever.

The bottom line is that there is the best time for everything.

Summary

Desh (place) and Kaal (time) are crucial factors that define food compatibility, natural biorhythm, ideal mealtime, etc.

Upyogsanstha (Usage Directions)

उपयोगसंस्था तूपयोगनियमः; स जीर्णलक्षणापेक्षः (७) |२२|

Upyogsantha is the method to consume food. Suppose that you have the most nutritious food, cooked properly, and with a great combination. The time and place are also favorable. But if you do not use this food properly, then you may gain no benefit from all the favorable factors.

For example, Accharya Charak says that you should not consume the food before digesting the earlier meal.

Usage direction is applicable even if you eat raw fruits! How? Ayurveda says that whether you lick, suck or eat a mango makes a difference in its nutritional benefits!

Ayurveda advises licking Chavanprash slowly, instead of immediately gulping it down. Gradual licking helps in better digestion and absorption of Chavanprash. Besides, it also activates the taste buds and enhances the level of satisfaction through the feeding process.

The use of yogurt is another example. According to all ancient texts, you must not consume yogurt during nighttime. Why? The overall rate of metabolism decreases after sunset. Besides, kapha dosha dominates the first phase of the night. According to Ayurveda, yogurt is heavy to digest and may make you susceptible to kapha related disorders.

However, Bhav Prakash Nighantu suggests some special directions for yogurt consumption at night. These directions can help you to prevent the negative effects of night-time yogurt consumption.

Ayurveda recommends consuming it along with honey, ghee, and sugar, moong dal, or awla. These combinations help to reduce the kapha increasing impact of yogurt.

Also, Ayurveda recommends consuming yogurt during the cold climate as it naturally warms the body. On the other hand, you should refrain from excess yogurt or buttermilk consumption during warm climates.

Summary

Upyogsanstha or the usage directions help to make the best use of food substances. They help to ensure the best bioavailability and perfect digestion of the food.

Upyokta (Consumer)

उपयोक्ता पुनर्यस्तमाहारमुपयुङ्क्ते, यदायत्तमोकसात्म्यम्| इत्यष्टावाहारविधिविशेषायतनानि व्याख्यातानि भवन्ति||२२||

The consumer is the king, no doubts about that. The ultimate effect of the food depends on the body type, current health status, age, digestion, and the overall metabolism of the consumer.

For example, people with different body types have different health requirements. Buttermilk is great for vata and kapha as it warms the body, whereas sweetened milk is better for the pitta dominant body type.

Pitta dominant people need heavy and cooling food, whereas kapha dominant people fare better with dry, light, and warm food.

Fruits and light food are the best dietary options for the Sick, recuperating, and the old. But a young wrestler with a pitta dominant constitution needs heavy food to quench his strong digestive fire.

Summary

Upyokta means the consumer. This factor defines the usage of food according to individual factors like body type, health status, age, digestive capacity, etc.

The Mango Example

Let us try to understand all eight factors with the example of mango

  1. Prakrati (Natural Nutritious Qualities)

The ripe mango is naturally sweet, moisturizing, heavy, and cool.

  1. Karan (Preparation)

Aamavat is a traditional mango preparation. It is a naturally sweet mango bar, prepared from sun-dried mango juice. Due to the sun-drying process, Aamavat becomes lighter compared to mango fruit. It is a natural appetizer. With its natural sweetness, Aamavat helps to balance vata dosha. It is also beneficial for excessive thirst, nausea, etc. Aamavat is also a natural laxative. Therefore, it helps to balance pitta.

  1. Sanyog (Combination)

According to Bhav Prakash Nighantu, a combination of mango and milk is sweet, heavy, and cool. It is a tonic, appetizer, energizer that also helps to enhance skin tone!

  1. Rashi (Quantity)

Excessive intake of a sweet ripe mango is normally harmless. It may cause slight loose motions. However, excessive intake of raw mango can cause severe problems. It can lead to indigestion, intermittent fever, blood disorders, constipation, and eye disorders. Therefore, quantity makes a huge difference in the metabolic impact of a food item.

  1. Desh (Habitat)

There are more than 1000 varieties of mango found across India. However, Ayurveda says that the local variety is the best for the natives. Therefore, if you stay in south India, Baganpalli is a healthier option for you compared to Dashahari mango from the north.

  1. Kaal (Time)

Natural mango is the seasonal fruit for summer. But genetically modified varieties of mango are available throughout the year. These unnatural fruits may bring more harm to the body than nutrition.

  1. Upyogsanstha (Usage Directions)

Bhav Prakash Nighantu talks about the special benefits of sucking a mango. If you suck a juicy mango rather than chewing it, the process of sucking enhances the beneficial impact of mango. It is a better appetizer and lighter to digest compared to chewed mango.

  1. Upyokta (Consumer)

Ripe mango is excellent for esp. for vata prakrati people as it helps to balance vata dosha. It is great for people suffering from debility, malnutrition, low weight, blood disorders, etc.

Take Away

Ayurveda describes eight vital factors that govern the impact of food on our bodies. These factors together are called Ahaar Vidhi Visheshayatana (special aspects of food consumption). They are Prakrati (Natural Nutritious Qualities), Karan (Preparation), Sanyog (Combination), Rashi (Quantity), Desh (Habitat), Kaal (Time), Upyogsanstha (Usage Directions), and Upyokta (Consumer).

Information about these factors can help you to choose the ideal food according to your body type, and health conditions. Besides, these factors can also help you to consume good food in the right manner. The bottom line is – with the help of these eight factors, you can get the best of your food and avoid food-related negative consequences.

Mother Nature always strikes the perfect balance of required nutrition, regardless of the place and time. Therefore, the food that grows closest to you naturally is the best. No need to run after exotic imported food items. Besides, every season comes with its natural food production. This seasonal food helps the natives to adjust to the seasonal changes. Besides, Ayurveda prescribes usage guidelines and ways to choose the ideal food based on body types.

The bottom line is – choose seasonal, organic, and local food. Use it in the Ayurvedic manner according to your body type.

I hope that this information brings you best of health and prosperity.

Dr. Kanika Verma
Dr. Kanika Verma is an Ayurvedic physician in India. She studied Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery at Govt Ayurveda College in Jabalpur and graduated in 2009. She earned additional degrees in management and worked for Abbott Healthcare from 2011-2014. During that period, Dr. Verma used her knowledge of Ayurveda to serve charitable organizations as a healthcare volunteer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up for a FREE course to enjoy a lifetime of health

Vedic Science of Life

  • 30 Days of yoga
  • 30 Days of Meditation
  • Ayurveda for Beginners
Sign Up Now