fbpx

冥想与瑜伽——异同

冥想与瑜伽

您想知道您正在练习冥想还是瑜伽吗? 或两者? 这篇文章“冥想与瑜伽”-揭示了这些术语的相似点和差异。

介绍

如今,瑜伽已成为一种全球现象。 你可以在杂志、社交媒体、电视广告、附近的健身房,甚至办公室里看到人们练习的照片。 但这些人是 练习瑜伽或冥想? 或两者?

对于某些人来说,瑜伽只是 体位法。 如果是这样的话,即使你每天做下犬式,你也可以声称自己是瑜伽士——也就是练习瑜伽的人。

对于其他人来说,瑜伽就是静坐几个小时并聆听呼吸。 在这种情况下,即使你在冥想,你也在练习瑜伽。 真的吗?

那么,哪一组人是正确的呢?

所有瑜伽都是冥想吗?

我上面描述的人没有错,但也不正确。 瑜伽不仅仅是 体位法 (姿势)而不仅仅是冥想。 瑜伽甚至不是两者的结合。

瑜伽并不全是冥想。 有些瑜伽风格侧重于冥想,而另一些风格则侧重于其他“四肢”瑜伽,例如 体位法 or 呼吸法。 下面让我们探索一下这些肢体。

瑜伽与冥想

瑜伽是八正道

在帕坦伽利的瑜伽经中,关于瑜伽理论和实践的最受欢迎的书籍,瑜伽是 八正道. 它被称为瑜伽八肢或阿斯坦加瑜伽系统。 他们是:

亚马斯

亚马斯 是瑜伽的道德规则 您必须遵循这些原则才能诚信地生活。 一般来说,它们是你应该如何对待他人的标准。 这些包括:

黑慕沙: 非暴力。 您还应该对自己和世界上所有其他众生实行非暴力。

萨蒂亚: 诚实。 在任何情况下你都应该只说实话。

阿斯特亚: 不偷盗。 你永远不应该拿走任何不属于你的东西。

婆罗门:节制。 您应该始终正确使用能源,这意味着控制或调节它。

阿帕里格拉哈:不贪心。 你不应该贪婪或过度执着于事物。

Niyamas

Niyamas 是道德标准 遵循八正道,你必须遵循并培养你的习惯。 他们是:

绍查:清洁度。 你应该在身体意义上、环境以及你的思想和习惯上保持清洁。

桑托沙: 满足。 你应该满足并接受自己的现状和现在所拥有的。

小吃: 纪律。 瑜伽是一段旅程。 因此,你需要培养戒律,以继续你的证悟之旅。

斯瓦迪亚a: 自习。 你应该继续走自我意识的道路。

伊斯瓦拉·普拉尼达纳:屈服于更高的力量:你应该培养你的信仰并屈服于上帝或任何你相信的更高的力量。

体位法s

体位法 是瑜伽的身体方面。 梵语单词翻译为“座位”或“坐姿”。 体位法 在瑜伽中,保持身体强壮和柔软,为冥想做好准备是必要的。 传统上,印度教僧侣会修行 体位法 坐着的时候。 今天,存在许多体式,包括站立 体位法、倒立、后弯等

呼吸法

呼吸法 来自梵文单词 普拉纳, 意思是 ”生命的力量阿山扩张“,并 阎王控制”。 它是呼吸的扩展或控制。 在瑜伽中,重点是呼吸。 您可以根据您的意图来控制或扩展它。

Pratyahara

Pratyahara 来自梵文单词 普拉蒂, 意思是 ”“或”禁忌“,并 , 意思是 ”带来”。 它将你的感官从外部世界撤回并转向内部。 这是瑜伽冥想的起点。

执持

执持 是梵文术语“浓度“或”单一性”。 将你的感官从外部物体上撤回后,你会将意识带入一个心理对象。 这个物体可以是咒语、神灵、脉轮或意图。

dyana

dyana 表示“冥想“或”沉思”。 听起来可能和 执持,但又不同。 在 执持,你专注于一点。 在 dyana,你的心是安静的。 你意识到并专注于某一点,但你没有尝试,也没有赋予意义。 你看到这一点就知道了。

三昧

在帕坦伽利的《瑜伽经》中, 帕坦伽利描述 三昧 作为一种狂喜的状态,你与神或宇宙结合在一起.

总结

瑜伽,以帕坦伽利瑜伽经为基础的正确形式,是一条八正道。 所以,所有的瑜伽都是冥想,但冥想只是一方面。 不过,并非所有类型的瑜伽都练习冥想。 有的更注重 体位法 或其他肢体,而其他人则专注于冥想。 如果这些练习不练习其他肢体,你就不能称这些练习为瑜伽。

所有冥想都是瑜伽吗?

如上所述,冥想只是瑜伽的一部分。 所以,你可能会问,“这是否意味着所有冥想都被视为瑜伽?” 最简洁的答案是不。

这里有 许多类型的冥想。 大多数冥想都与宗教有关,特别是印度教和佛教。 第一批冥想练习者是印度教僧侣。 昆达里尼、巴克蒂、拉贾、智 以及来自印度的其他冥想都源于印度教信仰。 后来,发展了与印度教信仰无关的其他类型的冥想。

如今,许多主流宗教都发展了他们的冥想传统和仪式。 例如, 禅宗冥想,这是一种佛教修行. 道教 有其冥想练习,涉及培养 Qi,与 普拉纳 在瑜伽中。 基督教、伊斯兰教、犹太教和其他宗教也发展了冥想练习。

带走:

瑜伽是一段旅程。 但这是一个你永远无法完成的旅程。 为什么会这样? 这是因为你总是有一些新的东西有待发现。 从技术上讲,如果你不练习冥想,你就不是在练习瑜伽。 如上所述,瑜伽有八肢。 冥想只是其中之一。 然而,练习瑜伽的这一分支是一个很好的开始。 有人将瑜伽姿势的练习称为“移动冥想”。 即使在移动身体时,您仍停留在当下。 这仍然可以被视为“冥想”。

对于大多数人来说,瑜伽只是练习 体位法 并专注于呼吸。 这两个肢体是您瑜伽之旅的良好开端。 当您继续练习时,您将获得好处,并且可能会倾向于加深您的瑜伽知识。 它通常发生在人们开始做瑜伽姿势和呼吸练习时

冥想与瑜伽中的一些常见错误

当您开始瑜伽和冥想之旅时,您可能会想知道自己的做法是否正确。 以下是人们常犯的一些错误,您需要注意这些错误,以便知道如何处理它们:

你应该清空你的思绪

错误的! 在冥想练习中,你永远不应该期望能够消除所有想法——换句话说,没有思想。 头脑不是这样运作的。 各种想法会不断地在你的脑海中闪过。 那很好。 讽刺的是,你越强迫自己不去思考。 更多的想法会涌入你的脑海。 让我们明确一点:冥想并不是要清空你的思想,而是要清空你的思想。 它是将你的思想引导到一个点或一个想法上。 通常,这是你的呼吸。

你自己判断

另一个常见错误 练习瑜伽和冥想 正在评判你自己。 当您发现自己无法完成某些瑜伽姿势,无法连续冥想一小时,甚至无法静止一分钟时,不要对自己严酷并评判自己。 你是一个宝贵的灵魂。 即使你不能做某些事情,其他人也可以。 你还是值得被接受的。 接受当下的自己。 瑜伽中最重要的是你持续练习。

过于注重形状

什么时候 练习瑜伽 体位法,不要太关注Shape。 例如,当做轮式时,你老师的姿势不会和你的姿势相同。 我们有不同的解剖结构! 相反,请专注于您的对齐方式。 通过这样做,您将减少受伤的风险。

底线

冥想不等于瑜伽。 冥想只是更大瑜伽的一部分。 此外,某些类型的冥想并非源自任何瑜伽传统。 但是冥想——还是冥想! – 是自我意识和健康生活方式的有效工具。

您需要放松心情并改善健康吗? 开始练习冥想。 加入我们的 30天冥想挑战.

米拉·瓦茨
Meera Watts 是 Siddhi Yoga International 的所有者和创始人。 她以其在健康行业的思想领导力而闻名于世,并被公认为国际瑜伽博主 20 强。 她关于整体健康的文章出现在 Elephant Journal、CureJoy、FunTimesGuide、OMtimes 和其他国际杂志上。 她于 100 年获得新加坡百强企业家奖。Meera 是一名瑜伽老师和治疗师,但现在她主要专注于领导 Siddhi Yoga International、撰写博客以及与新加坡的家人共度时光。

联系我们

  • 此字段是为了进行验证,并应保持不变。

在 WhatsApp 上联系

Meditation vs Yoga- Similarities and Differences

meditation vs yoga

Are you wondering if you’re practicing meditation or Yoga? Or both? This article, ‘Meditation vs Yoga’- uncovered similarities & differences in these terms.

Introduction

Today, Yoga has become a global phenomenon. You see pictures of people practicing it in magazines, social media, TV ads, your neighborhood gym, and even your office. But are these people practicing Yoga or meditation? Or both?

For some people, Yoga is just the Asanas. If that’s the case, even if you are doing a downward dog a day, you can claim to be a yogi – that is, someone who practices Yoga.

To others, Yoga is all about sitting still for hours and listening to your breath. In this case, you are practicing Yoga even if you are meditating. Is that true?

So, which group of people is correct?

Is All Yoga Meditation?

The people I described above are not wrong but are not correct. Yoga is not just Asanas (poses) and not just meditation either. Yoga is not even the two combined.

Yoga is not all meditation. Some styles of Yoga focus on meditation, while others focus on the other “limbs” of Yoga, such as Asana or Pranayama. Let’s explore these limbs below.

yoga vs meditation

Yoga as an Eight-Fold Path

In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, the most popular book on the theory and practice of Yoga, Yoga is an eight-fold path. It is known as the Eight Limbs of Yoga or Astanga Yoga System. They are:

Yamas

Yamas are ethical rules in Yoga that you must follow to live your life with integrity. Generally, they are the standards of how you should treat others. These include:

Ahimsa: Non-violence. You should also practice non-violence towards yourself and all other beings in the world.

Satya: Truthfulness. You should speak only the truth in every circumstance.

Asteya: Non-Stealing. You should never take anything that does not belong to you.

Brahmacharya: Continence. You should always use energy properly, which means controlling or moderating it.

Aparigraha: Non-Covetousness. You should not be greedy or overly attached to things.

Niyamas

Niyamas are the ethical standards you have to live by and the habits you should cultivate following the eight-fold path. They are:

Saucha: Cleanliness. You should be clean in the physical sense and regarding the environment and your thoughts and habits.

Santosha: Contentment. You should be content and accept yourself for what you are and what you have right now.

Tapas: Discipline. Yoga is a journey. Therefore, you need to cultivate the discipline to continue on your journey toward enlightenment.

Svadhyaya: Self-study. You should continue on your path to self-awareness.

Isvara Pranidhana: Surrendering to a Higher Power: You should cultivate your faith and surrender to God or whatever higher power you believe in.

Asanas

Asana is the physical aspect of Yoga. The Sanskrit word translates to “seat” or “seated posture.” Asanas in Yoga are necessary to keep the body strong and supple to prepare it for meditation. Traditionally, Hindu monks would practice their Asanas while sitting. Today, many Asanas exist, including standing Asanas, inversions, backbends, etc.

Pranayama

Pranayama comes from the Sanskrit words Prana, which means “life force,” Ayama, “expansion,” and Yama, “control.” It is the expansion or control of the breath. In Yoga, the focus is on the breath. You control or expand it depending on what your intention is.

Pratyahara

Pratyahara comes from the Sanskrit words prati, which means “against” or “contra,” and ahara, which means “bring.” It is withdrawing your senses from the outside world and turning them inward. This is the starting point of meditation in Yoga.

Dharana

Dharana is the Sanskrit term for “concentration” or “one-pointedness.” After withdrawing your senses from external objects, you bring awareness to one mental object. This object could be a mantra, a deity, a chakra, or an intention.

Dyana

Dyana means “meditation” or “contemplation.” It may sound the same as Dharana, but it is different. In Dharana, you focus on one point. In Dyana, your mind is quiet and still. You are aware and focused on one point, yet you are not trying and not giving meaning. You see this one point.

Samadhi

In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, Patanjali describes Samadhi as the state of ecstasy where you are united with the Divine or the universe.

Takeaway

Yoga, in its proper form based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, is an eight-fold path. So, all Yoga is meditation, but meditation is just one aspect. Not all types of yoga practice meditation, though. Some focus more on Asanas or the other limbs, while others focus on meditation. You cannot call these practices Yoga if they don’t practice the other limbs.

Is All Meditation Yoga?

As mentioned above, meditation is just a part of Yoga. So, you may ask, “does this mean that all meditations are considered yoga?” The short answer is no.

There are many types of meditation. Most of these meditations are connected to religion, particularly Hinduism and Buddhism. The first meditation practitioners were Hindu monks. Kundalini, Bhakti, Raja, Jnana and other meditations from India all stem from Hindu beliefs. Later, other types of meditation were developed that were not linked with Hindu beliefs.

Today, many mainstream religions have developed their meditation traditions and rituals. For example, Zen meditation, which is a Buddhist practice. Daoism has its meditation practice that involves cultivating the Qi, which is the same as Prana in Yoga. Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and other religions have also developed meditation practices.

Takeaway:

Yoga is a journey. But it is a journey that you can never complete. Why is that so? It’s because there is always something new about yourself to be discovered. If you don’t practice meditation, technically, you are not practicing Yoga. As mentioned above, Yoga has eight limbs. Meditation is just one of them. However, practicing just this one limb of Yoga is a great start. Some people call the practicing of yoga postures “moving meditation.” You remain in the present moment, even while moving your body. That can still be considered “meditation.”

For most people, Yoga is just practicing the Asanas and focusing on the breath. These two limbs are an excellent start to your yoga journey. As you continue your practice, you will reap the benefits and maybe feel inclined to deepen your knowledge of Yoga. It usually happens when people start doing yoga poses and breathing exercises

Some common mistakes In Meditation vs Yoga

As you start your yoga and meditation journey, you may wonder if you are doing it correctly. Here are some common mistakes people make, which you need to look out for so you’ll know how to handle them:

You Should Blank Out Your Mind

False! In meditation practice, you should never expect to be able to blank out all thoughts – in other words, to be thoughtless. The mind doesn’t work that way. Thoughts will constantly be flashing across your mind. And that is fine. Ironically, the more you push yourself not to think. The more thoughts will stream into your mind. Let’s be clear: Meditation is not about emptying your mind of thoughts; it is about directing your mind to a point or just one thought. Usually, it is your breath.

You Judge Yourself

Another common mistake while practicing Yoga and meditation is judging yourself. Don’t be harsh on yourself, and judge yourself, when you find that you cannot do certain yoga poses, cannot meditate for one hour straight, or can’t even stay still for a minute. You are a precious soul. Even if you cannot do certain things, others can. You are still worthy of acceptance. Accept yourself for who you are at the present moment. What matters most in Yoga is that you continue to practice.

Focussing too much on the Shape

When practicing yoga Asanas, don’t focus too much on the Shape. For example, when doing a Wheel Pose, the form of your teacher will not be the same as your form. We have different anatomies! Focus on your alignment instead. By doing this, you will lessen the risk of injury.

The Bottomline

Meditation does not equate to Yoga. Meditation is just a part of the larger Yoga. Furthermore, some types of meditation were not derived from any yoga tradition. But meditation – and meditation! – is an effective tool for self-awareness and a healthy lifestyle.

Do you need to ease your mind and improve your health? Start practicing meditation. Join our 30-day meditation challenge.

online yoga teacher training 2024
Meera Watts
Meera Watts is the owner and founder of Siddhi Yoga International. She is known worldwide for her thought leadership in the wellness industry and was recognized as a Top 20 International Yoga Blogger. Her writing on holistic health has appeared in Elephant Journal, CureJoy, FunTimesGuide, OMtimes and other international magazines. She got the Top 100 Entrepreneur of Singapore award in 2022. Meera is a yoga teacher and therapist, though now she focuses primarily on leading Siddhi Yoga International, blogging and spending time with her family in Singapore.

Get in Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact on WhatsApp