fbpx

التأمل في المسيحية واليوجا - أساطير

المسيحية و اليوغا التأمل

هناك العديد من المفاهيم الخاطئة حول العلاقة بين التأمل في المسيحية واليوجا. تسعى هذه المقالة إلى تبديد بعض هذه الأساطير.

مقدمة عن المسيحية والتأمل في اليوجا

التأمل هو ممارسة التركيز كل حواسك حول موضوع معين. الهدف هو تحقيق راحة البال أو الاتحاد مع الكائن الأسمى. منذ الأزل ، برز التأمل بشكل بارز في العديد من الممارسات الدينية والروحية. ومع ذلك ، يرتبط التأمل بشكل أساسي بالهندوسية والبوذية. نتيجة لذلك ، هناك العديد من الأسئلة حول ما إذا كان تأمل اليوجا متوافقًا مع المسيحية.

لماذا هذا؟

فيما يلي بعض المفاهيم الخاطئة الشائعة:

  • إن تركيز تأمل اليوجا على الذات غير صحي.
  • إنه يعزز كونك واحدًا مع الكون أو الله.
  • إنه يدعم إفراغ العقل ، وفتح الممارسين للاستحواذ الشيطاني.
  • يجعلك تهرب من الواقع.

أولاً ، لا يوجد دليل على أن الكتاب المقدس ضد التأمل.

تم ذكر التأمل ، أو الإشارة إليه ، مرات عديدة في الكتاب المقدس.

الكتاب المقدس على التأمل

تظهر كلمة أو فكرة التأمل في العديد من أسفار الكتاب المقدس. تترجم الكلمات العبرية واليونانية الواردة أدناه من الكتاب المقدس إلى "تأمل" أو "تأمل".

أمثلة على تأمل الناس في الكتاب المقدس

قيل أن بعض الشخصيات البارزة في الكتاب المقدس كانوا يتأملون. في الأسفل يوجد بعض الأمثلة:

إسحاق: أول شخص في الكتاب المقدس يتأمل هو إسحاق. في سفر التكوين شنومك: شنومكس، قرأنا أنه كان يتدرب سوتش في حقل أحضر الله إليه رفقة امرأته. تضمنت عادات إسحاق الصلاة والتأمل. يستخدم كليهما لتوجيه حياته وعائلته.

جوشوا: تلقى يشوع تعليمات من الله للتأمل في "كتاب القانونبعد موت موسى.

"لا يخرج كتاب الناموس هذا من فمك ، لكنك تتأمل فيه نهارًا وليلاً ، حتى تكون حريصًا على العمل حسب كل ما هو مكتوب فيه ؛ لذلك ستجعل طريقك مزدهرًا ، وبعد ذلك ستنجح ". (جوشوا 1: 8)

يشير هذا المقطع أدناه ، المأخوذ من سفر المزامير ، إلى تأمل يشوع:

"ولكن في ناموس الرب وناموسه مسراته. يتأمل نهارا وليلا. يكون مثل شجرة مغروسة بثبات في مجاري المياه ، فتخرج ثمرها في موسمها ، وورقها لا يذبل. ومهما يفعل ، يزدهر ". (مزمور شنومكس: شنومكس-شنومكس)

ديفيد: في مزمور 143تأمل داود في تجاربه السابقة مع الله عندما شعر بالثقل أو الإرهاق.

لذلك روحي غارقة في داخلي. قلبي مفزع في داخلي. أتذكر الأيام الخوالي. أتأمل في كل أفعالك. أنا أفهم عمل يديك ". (مزمور شنومكس: شنومكس-شنومكس)

فضح 5 أساطير التأمل

لا يختلف التأمل المسيحي كثيرًا عن التأمل الهندوسي أو التأمل البوذي. دعونا نفحص بعض الأساطير التي يحملها بعض المسيحيين حول التأمل.

التركيز على الذات غير صحي

التركيز كثيرًا على نفسك أمر غير صحي حقًا. لكن في تأمل اليوجا ، لا تركز كثيرًا على نفسك. يوجا سوترا باتانجالي اذكر أن اليوجا لها ثمانية أطراف. ياما الطرف الأول يدور حول التعامل مع الأشخاص الآخرين وبيئتك. على سبيل المثال، أهمسا، وهو أول ياما، يتحدث عن اللاعنف تجاه الآخرين ونفسك. لذلك ، اليوجا والتأمل ليسا موجهين فقط للذات.

كما تعلم البوذية مجموعة فضائلها الخاصة. وهي تشمل مبادئ مثل لا تسرق ؛ لا تقتل؛ لا تكذب؛ ولا تسيء استخدام الجنس. هذه توصيات حول كيفية عيش حياتك دون الإضرار بالآخرين. لذا ، فإن التأمل البوذي ليس موجهاً نحو الذات فحسب.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن العديد من هذه الفضائل موجودة أيضًا في الوصايا العشر في كتاب الخروج.

إنه يعزز كونك واحدًا مع الكون أو الله

في حين أن بعض الترانيم والتغنيات الهندوسية تكرّم آلهتهم وآلهاتهم ، فإن البعض الآخر لا يذكر أي إله أو إلهة معينة. على أي حال ، المسيحيون أحرار في التأمل أو ترديد مديحهم ليسوع بدلاً من شيفا أو كريشنا.

العديد من هتافات التأمل غير المسيحية تكرم آلهتهم ". المسيحيون أيضا يغنون الثناء ويعطون "المجد والشرف" الى الله.

أناشيد اليوجا لا تذكر "مع الله".

يقول الكتاب المقدس أننا "خلقنا على صورة الله" و "واحد مع الله".

في يوحنا 17: 20-21 AMP ، صلى يسوع ، "لا أصلي من أجل هؤلاء وحدهم [ليس من أجلهم فقط أن أقدم هذا الطلب] ، ولكن أيضًا من أجل كل أولئك الذين سيؤمنون يومًا ما (ثقوا في ، يتمسكون ، ويعتمدون علي) من خلال كلمتهم وتعليمهم ، ليكونوا جميعًا واحدًا ، [فقط] كما أنت ، أيها الآب ، في داخلي وأنا فيك ، ليكونوا أيضًا واحدًا فينا ، بحيث يكون العالم قد يؤمن ويقتنع بأنك أرسلتني ".

أن تكون واحدًا مع الله في الهندوسية والبوذية يعني نفس الشيء. لقد ولدنا بنفس وعي الله أو وعي بوذا. لذلك ، إذا قمنا بتوجيه نفس الوعي من خلال التأمل ، فيمكننا أن نكون "واحدًا مع الله".

إنه يدعم تفريغ العقل ، مما يجعلك أكثر عرضة للقوى الشيطانية

لا يمكنك تفريغ العقل. العقل لا يعمل بهذه الطريقة. إن اليوغا والتأمل اللذين يمارسهما الهندوس والبوذيون لا يذكران "تفريغ العقل". بدلاً من ذلك ، تعلم طلابها "التركيز" على موضوع ما. على سبيل المثال ، أنفاسك. تدور اليوجا والتأمل حول توجيه العقل نحو موضوع ما والحفاظ عليه.

يجعلك تهرب من الواقع

في اليوجا والتأمل ، هناك تركيز على البقاء في الوقت الحاضر. أنت لا تهرب من الواقع هنا. على العكس من ذلك ، من المحتمل أن تصبح أكثر وعياً بالواقع لأنك ترى الأشياء كما هي في الوقت الحاضر. أنت لا تستخدم الماضي لشرح اللحظة الحالية ، ولا تستخدم المستقبل للهروب منها.

ممارسة التأمل كمسيحي

تأمل في الكتاب المقدس

يتأمل الهندوس والبوذيون بشكل أساسي في يوجا سوترا باتانجالي ، وبهاغافاد جيتا ، ومورلي ، ونصوص دينية أخرى. كمسيحي ، يمكنك أن تستمد إلهامك من الكتاب المقدس.

يعطينا العهد الجديد إرشادات حول توجيه أفكارنا. كولوسيانز شنومكس: شنومكس-شنومكس يقول ، "اهتموا بما فوق ، لا على الأمور الأرضية. لقد مت ، وحياتك الآن مخفية مع المسيح في الله. عندما يظهر المسيح ، الذي هو حياتك ، ستظهر معه أيضًا في المجد ".

الرومانسية 6: 6-8 يقول أيضًا ، "العقل الذي يحكمه الجسد هو موت ، ولكن العقل الذي يحكمه الروح هو حياة وسلام. العقل الذي يحكمه الجسد معاد لله. إنه لا يخضع لشريعة الله ، ولا يمكنه أن يفعل ذلك. أولئك في عالم الجسد لا يستطيعون إرضاء الله. " (الرومانسية 6: 6-8)

في نسخة الملك جيمس (و NKJV) ، يمكنك أن تجد كلمة "تأمل" في تيموثاوس الأولى.

"تأمل [مليتا] في هذه الأشياء ؛ امنح نفسك بالكامل لهم ، حتى يكون تقدمك واضحًا للجميع ".

ابدأ وانتهى بالتحية والشكر لله

يمكن أن يؤخذ التأمل كشكل من أشكال الصلاة. تبدأ الصلوات وتنتهي بالتحية إلى الله. يمكنك أيضًا القيام بذلك أثناء التأمل. لا تحتاج إلى ترديد أوم أو قول ناماستي.

قم بعمل شكل آخر من أشكال التأمل

كثير من الناس، وخاصة في الغرب، لا يفكرون في اليوغا كدين ولكن كشكل من أشكال التمارين الرياضية. ولذلك، يمكنك اختيار القيام فقط مواقف اليوغا ولا تنضم إلى جزء التأمل في صف اليوغا الخاص بك. يمكنك أيضًا اختيار عدم ممارسة أوضاع اليوجا التي تكرم الآلهة والإلهات الهندوسية، مثل جاروداسانا وماريشياسانا وغيرها.

الخط السفلي

التأمل واليوجا ليسا حصريين للهندوس والبوذيين. يُظهر الكتاب المقدس أنه حتى الأنبياء المسيحيين ، مثل داود وإسحاق ، مارسوا التأمل بشكل ما. لذلك ، من الآمن أن نقول إن بإمكان المسيحيين ممارسة التأمل دون انتهاك معتقداتهم الدينية.

هل ترغب في تحقيق راحة البال من خلال التأمل؟ سجل لدينا مجانا تحدي التأمل المجاني لمدة 30 يومًا.

ميرا واتس
ميرا واتس هي مالكة ومؤسس Siddhi Yoga International. وهي معروفة في جميع أنحاء العالم بقيادتها الفكرية في صناعة العافية وتم الاعتراف بها كأفضل 20 مدونة دولية لليوغا. ظهرت كتاباتها عن الصحة الشاملة في مجلة Elephant Journal و CureJoy و FunTimesGuide و OMtimes ومجلات دولية أخرى. حصلت على جائزة أفضل 100 رائد أعمال في سنغافورة في عام 2022. ميرا هي معلمة يوغا ومعالجة ، على الرغم من أنها تركز الآن بشكل أساسي على قيادة Siddhi Yoga International ، والتدوين وقضاء الوقت مع أسرتها في سنغافورة.

تواصل معنا

  • هذا الحقل لأغراض التحقق من صحة وينبغي أن تترك دون تغيير.

اتصل على WhatsApp

The Christianity and Yoga Meditation – Myths

christianity and yoga meditation

There are many misconceptions about the relationship between Christianity and yoga meditation. This article seeks to dispel some of these myths.

Intro to Christianity and Yoga Meditation

Meditation is the practice of focusing all your senses on a specific subject. The goal is to achieve peace of mind or union with the Supreme Being. Since immemorial, meditation has figured prominently in many religious and spiritual practices. However, meditation is mainly associated with Hinduism and Buddhism. As a result, many questions whether yoga meditation is compatible with Christianity.

Why is that so?

Here are some common misconceptions:

  • The focus of yoga meditation on the self is unhealthy.
  • It promotes being one with the universe or God.
  • It supports emptying the mind, opening practitioners to demonic possession.
  • It makes you escape reality.

First, there is no evidence that the Bible is against meditation.

Meditation is mentioned, or referred to, numerous times in the Bible.

The Bible on Meditation

The word or the idea of meditation appears in many of the books of the Bible. The Hebrew and Greek words below from the Bible translate to “meditate” or “meditation.”

Examples of People Meditating in the Bible

A few prominent characters in the Bible were said to be meditating. Below are a few examples:

Isaac: The first person in the Bible seen to be meditating is Isaac. In Genesis 24:63, we read that he was practicing suach in a field when God brought Rebekah, his wife, to him. Isaac’s habits included praying and meditating. He uses both to direct his and his family’s life.

Joshua: Joshua received instructions from God to meditate on the “Book of Law” after Moses died.

“This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate [hagah] on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it; for then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have success.” (Joshua 1:8)

This passage below, taken from Psalms, makes mention of Joshua meditating:

“But his delight is in the law of the Lord and his law. He meditates [hagah] day and night. He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season and its leaf does not wither; And whatever he does, he prospers.” (Psalm 1:2-3)

David: In Psalm 143, David meditated on his past experiences with God when he felt burdened or overwhelmed.

“Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; my heart is appalled within me. I remember the days of old; I meditate [hagah] on all Your doings; I muse on the work of Your hands.” (Psalm 143:4-5)

5 Meditation Myths Debunked

Christian Meditation is not much different from Hindu meditation or Buddhist meditation. Let’s examine some of the myths some Christians hold about meditation.

The focus on the self is unhealthy

Focusing too much on yourself is indeed unhealthy. But in yoga meditation, you don’t focus too much on yourself. Yoga Sutras of Patanjali mention that Yoga has eight limbs. Yama’s first limb is about dealing with other people and your environment. For example, Ahimsa, the first Yama, speaks of non-violence towards others and yourself. So, Yoga and meditation are not simply directed at the self.

Buddhism also teaches its own set of virtues. They include principles such as do not steal; do not kill; do not lie; and do not misuse sex. These are recommendations on how to lead your life without harming others. So, Buddhist meditation is not simply directed to the self.

It is worth noting that many of these virtues are also found in the 10 commandments in the Book of Exodus.

It promotes being one with the universe or God

While some Hindu chants and mantras honor their own Gods and Goddesses, others make no mention of any specific God or Goddess. In any case, Christians are free to meditate or chant their praises to Jesus instead of Shiva or Krishna.

Many non-Christian meditation chants honor their gods.” Christians also sing praise and give “glory and honor” to God.

Yoga chants do not mention “being one with God.”

The Bible says we are “made in the image of God” and are “one with God.”

In John 17:20-21 AMP, Jesus prayed, “Neither for these alone do I pray [it is not for their sake only that I make this request], but also for all those who will ever come to believe in (trust in, cling to, rely on) Me through their word and teaching, That they all may be one, [just] as You, Father, are in Me and I in You, that they also may be one in Us, so that the world may believe and be convinced that You have sent Me.”

Being one with God in Hinduism and Buddhism means the same thing. We were born with the same God’s consciousness or Buddha’s consciousness. So, if we channel that same consciousness through meditation, we can be “one with God.”

It supports emptying the mind, making you more vulnerable to demonic forces

You cannot empty the mind. The mind does not work that way. Yoga and meditation practiced by Hindus and Buddhists do not mention “emptying the mind.” Instead, it teaches its students to “focus” on a subject matter. For example, your breath. Yoga and meditation are about directing the mind toward a subject and sustaining it.

It makes you escape reality

In Yoga and meditation, there’s an emphasis on staying in the present moment. You are not escaping reality here. On the contrary, you will likely become more aware of reality because you see things as they are in the present moment. You don’t use the past to explain the present moment, and you don’t use the future to escape it.

Practising Meditation as a Christian

Meditate on the Bible

Hindus and Buddhists mainly meditate on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, the Bhagavad Gita, the Murli, and other religious texts. As a Christian, you can draw your inspiration from the Bible.

The New Testament gives us instructions on directing our thoughts. Colossians 3:2-4 says, “Set your minds on things above, not earthly things. You died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, you will also appear with him in glory.”

Romans 6:6-8 also states, “The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. The mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Those in the realm of the flesh cannot please God.” (Romans 6:6-8)

In the King James Version (and the NKJV), you can find the word “meditate” in 1 Timothy.

“Meditate [meletaō] on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all.”

Start and End with Salutations and Gratitude to God

Meditation may be taken as a form of prayer. Prayers start and end with salutations to God. You can also do this when meditating. You don’t need to chant Om or say Namaste.

Do Another Form of Meditation

Many people, especially in the west, don’t think of Yoga as a religion but as a form of exercise. Therefore, you may choose to do only the yoga postures and not join the meditation part of your yoga class. You may also choose not to do yoga poses that honor Hindu Gods and Goddesses, such as Garudasana, Marichyasana and others.

The Bottomline

Meditation and Yoga are not exclusive to Hindus and Buddhists. The Bible shows that even Christian Prophets, such as David and Isaac, practiced meditation in some form. Therefore, it is safe to say that Christians can practice meditation without violating their religious beliefs.

Do you want to achieve peace of mind through meditation? Sign up for our free 30-day Free Meditation Challenge.

online yoga teacher training 2024
Meera Watts
Meera Watts is the owner and founder of Siddhi Yoga International. She is known worldwide for her thought leadership in the wellness industry and was recognized as a Top 20 International Yoga Blogger. Her writing on holistic health has appeared in Elephant Journal, CureJoy, FunTimesGuide, OMtimes and other international magazines. She got the Top 100 Entrepreneur of Singapore award in 2022. Meera is a yoga teacher and therapist, though now she focuses primarily on leading Siddhi Yoga International, blogging and spending time with her family in Singapore.

Get in Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact on WhatsApp