fbpx

基督教和瑜伽冥想——神话

基督教和瑜伽冥想

对于两者之间的关系,人们存在很多误解 基督教与瑜伽冥想。 本文旨在 消除其中一些神话.

基督教和瑜伽冥想简介

冥想是集中注意力的练习 你对特定主题的所有感官。 目标是获得内心的平静或与至高无上的存在的结合。 自古以来,冥想在许多宗教和精神实践中都占有重要地位。 然而,冥想主要与印度教和佛教有关。 因此,许多人质疑瑜伽冥想是否与基督教兼容。

为什么?

以下是一些常见的误解:

  • 瑜伽冥想的焦点是自我,这是不健康的。
  • 它促进与宇宙或上帝合一。
  • 它支持清空头脑,让修行者容易被恶魔附体。
  • 它让你逃避现实。

首先,没有证据表明圣经反对冥想。

圣经中多次提到或提到冥想。

圣经中的冥想

冥想这个词或概念出现在圣经的许多书中。 以下圣经中的希伯来语和希腊语单词可翻译为“冥想”或“冥想”。

圣经中人们冥想的例子

据说《圣经》中的一些著名人物正在冥想。 以下是一些示例:

艾萨克: 圣经中第一个被认为正在冥想的人是以撒。 在 创世纪24:63,我们读到他正在练习 苏阿赫 当上帝把他的妻子利百加带到他面前时,在田野里。 以撒的习惯包括祈祷和冥想。 他利用两者来指导自己和家人的生活。

约书亚:约书亚收到上帝的指示,要默想“法律之书摩西死后。

“这律法书不可离开你的口,总要昼夜思想,好使你谨守遵行其中所记的一切话。 因为这样你的道路就会繁荣,你就会成功。” (约书亚1:8的)

下面这段摘自《诗篇》的段落提到了约书亚的冥想:

“但他喜爱耶和华的律法和他的律法。 他日夜冥想[hagah]。 他要像一棵树扎在溪水旁,按时结果子,叶子也不枯干。 无论他做什么,他都会成功。” (诗篇1:2-3)

David :在 诗篇143中当大卫感到有负担或不知所措时,他会沉思过去与上帝相处的经历。

“因此,我的灵在我里面受压; 我内心惊骇。 我记得从前的日子; 我默想你的一切作为; 我默想你双手的工作。” (诗篇143:4-5)

揭穿 5 个冥想神话

基督教冥想与印度教冥想或佛教冥想没有太大区别。 让我们来看看一些基督徒对冥想的一些误解。

以自我为中心是不健康的

过于关注自己确实是不健康的。 但在瑜伽冥想中,你不会过多关注自己。 Patanjali瑜伽经 提到瑜伽有八肢。 阎摩的 第一部分是与其他人和你的环境打交道。 例如, 黑慕沙, 第一 阎王,谈到对他人和自己的非暴力。 所以,瑜伽和冥想不仅仅是针对自我。

佛教也教导其自己的一套美德。 其中包括诸如不偷窃等原则; 不要杀; 不撒谎; 并且不要滥用性。 这些是关于如何在不伤害他人的情况下过自己的生活的建议。 所以,佛教的禅修不只是针对自我。

值得注意的是,其中许多美德也体现在《圣经》的十诫中。 出埃及记.

它促进与宇宙或上帝合一

虽然一些印度教圣歌和咒语尊敬他们自己的神和女神,但其他印度教圣歌和咒语却没有提及任何特定的神或女神。 无论如何,基督徒可以自由地冥想或歌颂耶稣,而不是湿婆或奎师那。

许多非基督教的冥想圣歌都是为了纪念他们的神。” 基督徒也歌颂并奉献“荣耀与荣誉”对上帝说。

瑜伽颂歌中没有提到“与神合而为一设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

圣经说我们“是按照上帝的形象造的”并且“与神合而为一设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

在约翰福音 17:20-21 AMP 中,耶稣祷告说:“我不但为这些人祈求 [我提出这个请求,并不是单为他们的缘故],而且也为所有相信的人祈求(相信,坚持,依靠)我通过他们的话语和教导,使他们都可以合而为一,[公正]正如你,天父,在我里面,我在你里面一样,使他们也可以在我们里面合而为一,以便世界可以相信并深信你差遣了我。”

在印度教和佛教中,与神合一意味着同一件事。 我们生来就具有相同的神识或佛识。 因此,如果我们通过冥想引导同样的意识,我们就可以“与上帝合一”。

它支持清空思想,使你更容易受到恶魔力量的攻击

你无法清空头脑。 头脑不是这样运作的。 印度教徒和佛教徒练习的瑜伽和冥想没有提到“清空头脑”。 相反,它教导学生“专注”某个主题。 例如,你的呼吸。 瑜伽和冥想是将思想引导到一个主题并维持它。

它让你逃避现实

在瑜伽和冥想中,强调停留在当下。 你在这里并没有逃避现实。 相反,你可能会更加了解现实,因为你会看到事物当下的样子。 你不会用过去来解释当下,也不会用未来来逃避当下。

作为基督徒练习冥想

默想圣经

印度教徒和佛教徒主要冥想帕坦伽利的《瑜伽经》、《薄伽梵歌》、《Murli》和其他宗教文献。 作为基督徒,您可以从圣经中汲取灵感。

新约圣经给了我们指导思想的指示。 歌罗西人3:2-4 说:“你们要思念上面的事,不要思念地上的事。 你死了,你的生命现在与基督一起藏在神里面。 基督是你的生命,当他显现时,你也要与他一同显现在荣耀里。”

浪漫6:6 8 又说:“心思受肉体支配就是死,心思受圣灵管辖乃是生命平安。 受肉体支配的心思是与神为敌的; 它不服从上帝的律法,也不能这样做。 那些属肉体的人不能讨神喜悦。” (浪漫6:6 8)

在英皇钦定本(和新钦定本)中,你可以在提摩太前书找到“默想”这个词。

“冥想[meletaō]这些事情; 把自己完全奉献给他们,让所有人都看到你的进步。”

以向上帝致敬和感恩开始和结束

冥想可以被视为祈祷的一种形式。 祈祷以向上帝致敬开始和结束。 你也可以在冥想时这样做。 你不需要念诵 Om 或说 Namaste。

进行另一种形式的冥想

许多人,尤其是西方人,并不认为瑜伽是一种宗教,而是一种锻炼形式。 因此,您可以选择只执行 瑜伽姿势 不要参加瑜伽课的冥想部分。 您也可以选择不做纪念印度教神灵的瑜伽姿势,例如 Garudasana、Marichyasana 等。

底线

冥想和瑜伽并非印度教徒和佛教徒的专利。 圣经表明,即使是基督教先知,例如大卫和以撒,也以某种形式练习冥想。 因此,可以肯定地说,基督徒可以在不违反宗教信仰的情况下练习冥想。

你想通过冥想获得心灵的平静吗? 免费注册我们的 30 天免费冥想挑战.

米拉·瓦茨
Meera Watts 是 Siddhi Yoga International 的所有者和创始人。 她以其在健康行业的思想领导力而闻名于世,并被公认为国际瑜伽博主 20 强。 她关于整体健康的文章出现在 Elephant Journal、CureJoy、FunTimesGuide、OMtimes 和其他国际杂志上。 她于 100 年获得新加坡百强企业家奖。Meera 是一名瑜伽老师和治疗师,但现在她主要专注于领导 Siddhi Yoga International、撰写博客以及与新加坡的家人共度时光。

联系我们

  • 此字段是为了进行验证,并应保持不变。

在 WhatsApp 上联系

The Christianity and Yoga Meditation – Myths

christianity and yoga meditation

There are many misconceptions about the relationship between Christianity and yoga meditation. This article seeks to dispel some of these myths.

Intro to Christianity and Yoga Meditation

Meditation is the practice of focusing all your senses on a specific subject. The goal is to achieve peace of mind or union with the Supreme Being. Since immemorial, meditation has figured prominently in many religious and spiritual practices. However, meditation is mainly associated with Hinduism and Buddhism. As a result, many questions whether yoga meditation is compatible with Christianity.

Why is that so?

Here are some common misconceptions:

  • The focus of yoga meditation on the self is unhealthy.
  • It promotes being one with the universe or God.
  • It supports emptying the mind, opening practitioners to demonic possession.
  • It makes you escape reality.

First, there is no evidence that the Bible is against meditation.

Meditation is mentioned, or referred to, numerous times in the Bible.

The Bible on Meditation

The word or the idea of meditation appears in many of the books of the Bible. The Hebrew and Greek words below from the Bible translate to “meditate” or “meditation.”

Examples of People Meditating in the Bible

A few prominent characters in the Bible were said to be meditating. Below are a few examples:

Isaac: The first person in the Bible seen to be meditating is Isaac. In Genesis 24:63, we read that he was practicing suach in a field when God brought Rebekah, his wife, to him. Isaac’s habits included praying and meditating. He uses both to direct his and his family’s life.

Joshua: Joshua received instructions from God to meditate on the “Book of Law” after Moses died.

“This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate [hagah] on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it; for then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have success.” (Joshua 1:8)

This passage below, taken from Psalms, makes mention of Joshua meditating:

“But his delight is in the law of the Lord and his law. He meditates [hagah] day and night. He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season and its leaf does not wither; And whatever he does, he prospers.” (Psalm 1:2-3)

David: In Psalm 143, David meditated on his past experiences with God when he felt burdened or overwhelmed.

“Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; my heart is appalled within me. I remember the days of old; I meditate [hagah] on all Your doings; I muse on the work of Your hands.” (Psalm 143:4-5)

5 Meditation Myths Debunked

Christian Meditation is not much different from Hindu meditation or Buddhist meditation. Let’s examine some of the myths some Christians hold about meditation.

The focus on the self is unhealthy

Focusing too much on yourself is indeed unhealthy. But in yoga meditation, you don’t focus too much on yourself. Yoga Sutras of Patanjali mention that Yoga has eight limbs. Yama’s first limb is about dealing with other people and your environment. For example, Ahimsa, the first Yama, speaks of non-violence towards others and yourself. So, Yoga and meditation are not simply directed at the self.

Buddhism also teaches its own set of virtues. They include principles such as do not steal; do not kill; do not lie; and do not misuse sex. These are recommendations on how to lead your life without harming others. So, Buddhist meditation is not simply directed to the self.

It is worth noting that many of these virtues are also found in the 10 commandments in the Book of Exodus.

It promotes being one with the universe or God

While some Hindu chants and mantras honor their own Gods and Goddesses, others make no mention of any specific God or Goddess. In any case, Christians are free to meditate or chant their praises to Jesus instead of Shiva or Krishna.

Many non-Christian meditation chants honor their gods.” Christians also sing praise and give “glory and honor” to God.

Yoga chants do not mention “being one with God.”

The Bible says we are “made in the image of God” and are “one with God.”

In John 17:20-21 AMP, Jesus prayed, “Neither for these alone do I pray [it is not for their sake only that I make this request], but also for all those who will ever come to believe in (trust in, cling to, rely on) Me through their word and teaching, That they all may be one, [just] as You, Father, are in Me and I in You, that they also may be one in Us, so that the world may believe and be convinced that You have sent Me.”

Being one with God in Hinduism and Buddhism means the same thing. We were born with the same God’s consciousness or Buddha’s consciousness. So, if we channel that same consciousness through meditation, we can be “one with God.”

It supports emptying the mind, making you more vulnerable to demonic forces

You cannot empty the mind. The mind does not work that way. Yoga and meditation practiced by Hindus and Buddhists do not mention “emptying the mind.” Instead, it teaches its students to “focus” on a subject matter. For example, your breath. Yoga and meditation are about directing the mind toward a subject and sustaining it.

It makes you escape reality

In Yoga and meditation, there’s an emphasis on staying in the present moment. You are not escaping reality here. On the contrary, you will likely become more aware of reality because you see things as they are in the present moment. You don’t use the past to explain the present moment, and you don’t use the future to escape it.

Practising Meditation as a Christian

Meditate on the Bible

Hindus and Buddhists mainly meditate on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, the Bhagavad Gita, the Murli, and other religious texts. As a Christian, you can draw your inspiration from the Bible.

The New Testament gives us instructions on directing our thoughts. Colossians 3:2-4 says, “Set your minds on things above, not earthly things. You died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, you will also appear with him in glory.”

Romans 6:6-8 also states, “The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. The mind governed by the flesh is hostile to God; it does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Those in the realm of the flesh cannot please God.” (Romans 6:6-8)

In the King James Version (and the NKJV), you can find the word “meditate” in 1 Timothy.

“Meditate [meletaō] on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all.”

Start and End with Salutations and Gratitude to God

Meditation may be taken as a form of prayer. Prayers start and end with salutations to God. You can also do this when meditating. You don’t need to chant Om or say Namaste.

Do Another Form of Meditation

Many people, especially in the west, don’t think of Yoga as a religion but as a form of exercise. Therefore, you may choose to do only the yoga postures and not join the meditation part of your yoga class. You may also choose not to do yoga poses that honor Hindu Gods and Goddesses, such as Garudasana, Marichyasana and others.

The Bottomline

Meditation and Yoga are not exclusive to Hindus and Buddhists. The Bible shows that even Christian Prophets, such as David and Isaac, practiced meditation in some form. Therefore, it is safe to say that Christians can practice meditation without violating their religious beliefs.

Do you want to achieve peace of mind through meditation? Sign up for our free 30-day Free Meditation Challenge.

online yoga teacher training 2024
Meera Watts
Meera Watts is the owner and founder of Siddhi Yoga International. She is known worldwide for her thought leadership in the wellness industry and was recognized as a Top 20 International Yoga Blogger. Her writing on holistic health has appeared in Elephant Journal, CureJoy, FunTimesGuide, OMtimes and other international magazines. She got the Top 100 Entrepreneur of Singapore award in 2022. Meera is a yoga teacher and therapist, though now she focuses primarily on leading Siddhi Yoga International, blogging and spending time with her family in Singapore.

Get in Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact on WhatsApp