Chaturanga Dandasana (pose à quatre branches)

Nom (s) anglais

Chaturanga Dandasana
Pose à quatre membres

Sanskrit

चतुरङ्गदण्डासन / Caturaṅga Daṇḍāsana

Prononciation

cha-TO-échelon-gah dun-DAH-suh-nuh

Sens

catur: «quatre»
anga: "membre"
danda: «personnel»
āsana: «posture»

Les bienfaits physiques

Chaturanga Dandasana (cha-TO-rung-gah dun-DAH-suh-nuh) renforce les bras (triceps et pectoraux), les muscles du tronc et des jambes. Il stabilise également les épaules, le tronc, les hanches et les muscles du haut du dos. C'est une bonne pose pour donner de la force aux bras et aux jambes avant de passer aux extensions du dos.

Avantages énergétiques

Cette pose nécessite d'avoir la force et la coordination des parties supérieures et inférieures du corps. La pratique fréquente de la pose donne une immense force au corps. Un yogi a besoin de force corporelle pour surmonter certaines épreuves en direct. Lorsque le corps est fort, le yogi aura la capacité de prendre une pratique plus profonde qui peut guider l'esprit dans une pratique plus sérieuse de la yamas et la Niyamas dans l'Ashtanga Yoga. L'une des valeurs principales du Niyamas is tapas (austérité). Accepter les difficultés de la vie et rejeter les conforts indésirables donnera force et direction de simplicité au yogi qui recherche un accomplissement supérieur en yoga. Un esprit qui n'est pas entraîné à s'éloigner des objets n'aura pas la capacité de refléter le soi supérieur. Un lac perturbé ne reflétera pas une montagne. Dans une nappe d'eau plate, vous pouvez même voir un brin d'herbe.

Contre-indications

Les élèves atteints du syndrome du canal carpien et d'autres problèmes au poignet, au coude et à l'épaule doivent éviter de sauter dans et hors de cette pose. Les femmes qui ont leurs règles et qui sont enceintes devraient éviter cette pose. Les élèves peuvent modifier cette pose en pliant les genoux dans le sol.

Entrer dans la pose

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les spams. Découvrez comment sont traitées les données de vos commentaires..

Chaturanga Dandasana (Four-Limbed Pose)

English Name(s)

Chaturanga Dandasana
Four-Limbed Pose

Sanskrit

चतुरङ्गदण्डासन / Caturaṅga Daṇḍāsana

Pronunciation

cha-TO-rung-gah dun-DAH-suh-nuh

Meaning

catur: “four”
anga: “limb”
danda: “staff”
āsana: “posture”

Physical Benefits

Chaturanga Dandasana (cha-TO-rung-gah dun-DAH-suh-nuh) strengthens the arms (triceps and pectoralis), core and leg muscles. It also stabilizes the shoulders, core, hips and upper back muscles. It is a good pose to give strength to the arms and legs before going into back extensions.

Energetic Benefits

This pose requires one to have strength and coordination of the upper and lower parts of the body. Frequent practice of the pose gives immense strength to the body. A yogi requires bodily strength to overcome certain hardships in live. When the body is strong the yogi will have the ability to take up a deeper practice that can guide the mind into a more serious practice of the Yamas and the Niyamas in Ashtanga Yoga. One of the principle values in the Niyamas is Tapas (austerity). Accepting the hardship of life and rejecting unwanted comforts will give strength and direction of simplicity to the yogi who is looking for higher accomplishment in yoga. A mind that is not trained to keep away from objects will not have the capacity to reflect the higher self. A disturbed lake will not reflect a mountain. In a still sheet of water you can see even a blade of grass.

Contraindications

Students with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome and other wrist, elbow and shoulder issues should avoid jumping into and out of this pose. Women who are menstruating and who are pregnant should avoid this pose. Students can modify this pose by bending their knees into the floor.

Going into the Pose

Recommended for you

Yoga Retreat for Beginners in Rishikesh and Dharamsala, India

Physical Benefits Chaturanga Dandasana (cha-TO-rung-gah dun-DAH-suh-nuh) strengthens the arms (triceps and pectoralis), core and leg muscles. It also stabilizes the shoulders, core, hips and upper back muscles. It is...

200 hr yoga alliance certification india

Physical Benefits Chaturanga Dandasana (cha-TO-rung-gah dun-DAH-suh-nuh) strengthens the arms (triceps and pectoralis), core and leg muscles. It also stabilizes the shoulders, core, hips and upper back muscles. It is...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apply Now